Night in Camden (Silks and Spice, Spiritual Caparinha Bar)


Why has it taken this long for me to find out about Yum Cha?  I’m sure everyone else in the world already knows how good it is, but I’m recommending Silks and Spice Yum Cha in Camden as it was really amazing*.  I’m officially changing my answer to that age-old question…“if you had to choose one cuisine to live on for the rest of your life, what would it be”….my answer has now changed from Italian to YUM CHA!

We had quite a few dishes between us and I could have stayed there all night, possibly until my belly burst a la gluttony scene from the movie Se7en (Google it).  The food is very fresh, well made and quick to come out to the table too.  The service was brilliant, there are many waiters and waitresses there rushing around constantly and you can signal to any of them to order more dishes.  Their frozen margaritas were also very tasty (and strong!).  I would have taken a picture of this Chinese banquet but I didn’t want to be that person.  So here is one from the website:

yum

They offer 50% off your Yum Cha bill on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays AND they have karaoke rooms downstairs, so it would be great place for combining dinner, drinks and bad singing with friends.

The restaurant is between Camden Town and Chalk Farm stations, near to Roundhouse.  It has quite a large capacity and we got a table right away at around 7pm, but it was full from 8pm, so I’d recommend booking at the weekend.

After dinner mint?  Nah, after dinner drink!

If you can prize yourself away, I recommend the Spiritual Caparinha Bar about five metres away.  It’s incredibly small, but quirky and cosy and has more character than some of the other bars in the area.  They host live music nights there too, we were there to see evanjack (who are amazing by the way) and the vibe was perfect for it.  Intimate and friendly.  A lot of us just sat on the floor like we were in a mate’s front room.

scb

Definitely a couple of real gems in North London worth visiting.

 

*unless you are allergic to anything, as they can’t be relied upon to eliminate the offending ingredient, as I found out on another recent visit!

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Bar, Events, Music, Pubs, Restaurant, Underground and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

