Night in Kings Cross (Scala, Walk the Moon)


Scala is one of those historic and legendary-venues-turned-music-venue.  Originally opening in 1920 as a cinema with a 20-piece orchestra, it barely survived the Blitz and was reopened in the 50’s screening movies.  They went on to dabble in live music too in the 70’s before becoming Scala in the 80’s.  Over the last decade or so, they have played host to mega acts like Foo Fighters and Chemical Brothers.

scalaexteriorfull

I was there to see Walk the Moon, I was introduced to them by a friend and instantly loved them for their quirky, upbeat and fun tunes.  Judging by their DIY-esque music videos, I knew their live performances must be something a bit special.

I wasn’t disappointed, my friends and I (but mostly me) were dancing like loons from the first song, right through to the very end.  The energy that they packed in, together with bits of banter throughout, made this one of those unforgettable gigs you wish you could experience every night.  I left with sweaty hair (actually sweaty everything), a sure sign of a good dance-fest.

I’d even go all out and say this gig is up there in my top ten and I’ve been to a lot of gigs!

It’s only a shame that they are now supporting Pink! in her current tour AND I heard one of their tracks on Made in Chelsea (erm, there was nothing else on TV okay?!).  Well, I guess money is money.

Success is very well deserved for this crazy quartet.

Walk_the_Moon_Dinani_001_lo

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Bar, Events, Music, Night Club and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

