Day in Shoreditch (Tramshed Restaurant)


Tramshed restaurant, Shoreditch – Part of the Hix Restaurant group, Tramshed is the place to go…if you like chicken, or steak.  There were three of us and unfortunately we didn’t book but we were directed towards the bar to have a drink whilst we waited for a table.

The first and main point I’d like to make about this restaurant is that the staff are fantastic.  It was first class service all the way.  They were naturally all of the trendy kind (what with being in Shoreditch) and all were very chatty with us and helpful.

We ordered some Bloody Mary’s and ‘bar snax’ to ease the hangover (the onions rings were very yummy, more like hot onion donuts!).

After about half an hour, we were told we had a table.  We were kind of sad about this as we’d made a new friend in the barman (and he was quite cute – don’t judge me).

For our main we ordered a whole chicken and fries, steak, more fries and garlic mushrooms.  I’d noticed, with some horror, that the chicken comes out with its feet still on.  This freaked me out a bit, I’m one of those people who doesn’t want to know that this yummy chicken I’m eating once was alive and running around…and had feet.  They do give the option of taking them off but we didn’t as my friend wanted to see it (a boy of course)!

chicken

Overall, the food was fine but to be honest, for the price, it wasn’t really justified, in my opinion.  I’ve had much tastier chicken and steak elsewhere, for cheaper.  But, I guess they are still paying off that Damien Hirst ‘Cock and Bull’ sculpture, made specifically for the restaurant.

I do recommend it for good service and a relaxed atmosphere, perfect for a bite before hitting the bars on Rivington Street (or go to Bedroom Bar a few doors down – awesome southern chicken burger and only £8.50!)

 

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Art Gallery, Restaurant and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

