Night in Shoreditch (XOYO, Friendly Fires)


12th December: A serious subject now on preventing suicide.  English indietronica band, Friendly Fires hosted a special event ‘For Adam’ for their friend Adam Connolly who tragically took his own life in November 2012.

adam-connolly1-440x331

Held in popular Shoreditch nightclub, XOYO, around 800 people attended with proceeds from ticket sales going to a charity chosen by Adam’s family.

Surprisingly, suicide remains the biggest killer of men between 15 and 29 years old.  Unfortunately, the stigma of having a mental illness prevents some from seeking help.  I personally know of three friends of friends who have committed suicide, which is terrifying.  Hopefully, by talking about it more openly, it will help break down those walls.

So, putting my money where my mouth is, I am no longer afraid to say that I have suffered from depression.  It’s not fun, to put it mildly, but with the right help around you, either through friends, family or via public services such as your GP or various charities, hopefully you can get through it.  You’re not alone.

The gig was fantastic and as expected, Friendly Fires were on top form.  It introduced me to disco-funk band Kindness too who are pretty cool and getting rather popular…

I hope everyone will do their own little bit for charity, no matter what it is or which charity it’s for, we all need a bit more kindness in the world.

Peace.

PLM

 

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Bar, Events, Music, Night Club, Underground and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

