Night in Balham (Firefly, Exhibit, The Clarence)


Saturday 20th October: I’m definitely more of a North/East London type when it comes to going out for some drinks, but sometimes, you just have to stay local and enjoy whatever it has to offer.  So first stop was Firefly, because we were after somewhere on a Saturday that was going to be fairly chilled so we could have a good old girly chinwag.  They have a decent drinks menu and a happy hour from 6pm-8pm – bonus!  What’s even better is they have an independently run Thai kitchen too, the food is yummy!  Not much of an atmosphere though, so I only recommend it as a place to start the night off, with some Thai nibbles.

We then went to The Exhibit for something a bit more lively, but there is a fine line between lively and just loud and annoying.  Unfortunately, on a Saturday, this place falls into the latter category.  [However!  I do highly rate their cinema and meal deal, £15.90 for two courses in their American Diner and a cinema ticket.  We were totally stuffed after our meal of great quality American-style burgers and fries and then a knickerbockerglory…heaven!  I found it hard not to fall asleep during the movie, but it was Skyfall so….]

Image

Anyway, after one drink at Exhibit we headed to The Clarence and were very pleased to see they had a DJ there playing some cool, old-skool tunes.  So of course, we just had to dance around like loons…it may have been the alcohol, but we felt comfortable enough to just be silly and have fun, good times!

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Bar, Cafe, Events, Pubs, Restaurant and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

