Night in South Kensington (Whole Foods)


Friday 31st August: Do you feel like you’ve had enough of propping up those standard bars and pubs?  Ever felt like you’d like to build a make-shift home in the wine aisle of your local Tesco’s, Sainsbury’s or Waitrose?  Your prayers have been answered!

I give to you the Whole Foods – Kensington wine tasting extravaganza!  Here you can taste up to 25 wines by following these easy steps:

  1. Register your details at the wine bar to obtain your very own Wine Card.
  2. Add a monetary amount of your choice.
  3. Go to machines.
  4. Pick up wine glass.
  5. Place glass under your wine dispenser of choice.
  6. Choose a taster, small or standard measurement (25ml, 125ml, 175ml)
  7. Drink yummy wine.
  8. Repeat steps 1-7 until your card is empty then go to step 9.
  9. Top up card and repeat steps 1-7 or go for a drunken food shop (and buy everything because now you have some serious munchies!).
  10. Go home, you can’t actually live here…

You can also order food to compliment your wines, such as a cheese platter.  The staff will happily help you choose the best wine for your nibbles too.

This is the ideal place to unwind post-work and pre-bar or home with a few of your colleagues or friends.  The store closes at 10pm Monday – Saturday.

I have developed a strong penchant for a good glass of wine these days but I’m still not at the point where I will buy a bottle at £50, however, here you can at least give it a taste.

If you have never visited the Kensington Whole Foods, I highly recommend it.  This store also boasts an amazing cheese store (conveniently next to the huge wine section).  In-between the cheese and wine section is the spirits section where you will find a vast collection from all around the world, some you will never have heard of.

If you are a massive foodie and partial to a drink or two, make the time to visit, I guarantee you will feel like you did the first time your mum took you to Toys R Us…if only I could somehow be locked in overnight…

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Cafe, Events, Restaurant, Wine Bar and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

