Night on Oxford Street – 100 Club


Friday 24th August 2012: I’ve been to the 100 Club many times now and it will always be one of the best places to see live music.  Yes, it’s essentially a basement; it’s a bit grimy and probably hasn’t had a new, um…anything since it opened, but if you want to go to a place which is legendary, unpretentious and has enough superstar *DNA encrusted onto its walls to create a new one, then 100 Club is it.

Anyway, tonight I was pleased to attend yet another gig featuring Will and the Ways as the headliner.  Being friends of the band makes this post slightly biased but I honestly wouldn’t waste my time writing this if they didn’t pass the hayley-o-meter!

There is a lot of talent in this here band; with the main man himself, um…Will, as singer/songwriter/guitarist/frontman, Cecily as the classically trained violinist (and the only member of the band who can perform well after several drinks!), Chris, Tom and Tom rocking the guitar, bass and drums.

The songs are heartfelt, personal and sometimes a bit of a ballad, especially when the fans all start singing the words together at the direction of Will…”You know me, I’m only lonely when you’re around” – Twist of Fate – which is both moving and slightly disturbing when you see Will’s fellow hockey player mates joining in.

Always the crowd-pleaser, Will and the Ways are one of those bands you can’t help but like and I guarantee that at least one of their songs will get stuck deep within your brain…FOREVER!

*I’m referring to the sweaty walls contributed to by the likes of The Beatles, Oasis, Amy Winehouse et al…

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Events, Music, Pubs, Underground and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

