Night in Kings Cross (Smithy’s/Monto Water Rats)


Thursday 9th August 2012: Band night!  Oh how I love these nights! *said in a wistful, romantic way with hands clasped and eyes to the clouds*. 

Tonight it was time to see Scars on 45, but first we stopped by at Smithy’s Wine Bar and Restaurant for a drink and nibbles.

Great place, situated just off Gray’s Inn Road near Kings Cross station on a cobbled street is where you’ll find this converted old shire horse stable.  They have retained many of the original features (no not the horses) and given it a cosy and modern feel.  The staff were all friendly and service was quick and efficient.  You’d expect it to be a bit dingy but there were plenty of windows and fresh air throughout the building, so it felt very spacious and bright.

Food – I ordered the mini fishcakes, which were surprisingly the best ones I think I’ve had, they had a slight Thai taste to them and I could’ve eaten a horse trough full!

Drinks – a large wine and bottle of beer cost just over £10 (it was one of the dearer wines…I sometimes have expensive taste!)

So, onto the band, who were playing at Monto Water Rats, a place I’d heard of through my music PR days, but had never ventured to.  I’d heard mixed opinions, so was intrigued.

Unfortunately, I’d have to agree with the majority who said it isn’t all that.  The music area was through an old man type pub at the back, which is fine obviously, but Monto, why invite a band to play at your venue, who are clearly awesome and put them on first and allow them only 6 songs, to then have a completely different style of band on afterwards and finish the night before 10pm?!  Makes no sense to me.  Rant over.

I hadn’t heard of Scars on 45 before but my friend had gone to school with “Nova” the keyboard player, so wanted to show some support and say hi.  I’d listened to their tracks before heading over and must admit, it wasn’t something I’d normally choose to listen to.  They reminded me of a cross between maybe Fleetwood Mac and The Corrs?!  I probably should be able to think of a similar band that are still around, but I can’t.  Sorry.

Well, now having seen them live, they are a permanent choice for my daily music fix at work.  It’s not often you see a band who, not only live up to the quality of sound from their master tracks, but are much better than them!  They were very tight as a band and all seemed to get on well and had plenty of typical Northern witty banter on stage (they’re from Leeds).

They have done immensely well in the US for a British band, where they have been for the last 2 years under Atlantic Records’ wings.  Unfortunately for the band though, the Atlantic rep for the UK didn’t turn up, shame on you!  They definitely deserve the extra effort in getting their name fully onto the UK music scene, but I’m sure it will come in good time.

They first shot to fame in the US after one of their tracks was chosen for an episode of CSI: New York.  Now, their track, Hearts on Fire, has been selected as the main recurring theme song for the new series of the top medical US drama Grey’s Anatomy.

Definitely ones to watch (a phrase well over-used but suitable in this case!)

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Events, Music, Night Club, Pubs, Restaurant, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

