Night at King’s Road (Olympics)


Friday 27th August 2012: I stopped in at the Saatchi Gallery an hour before close, which was just enough time to have a quick squiz at the current exhibition, the contemporary focused Korean Eye 2012.  2000 emerging Korean artists submitted their portfolios for consideration to be showcased at the gallery, but only 33 were chosen.

Many of the artists had experimented with modern technologies such as lazer beams to lentincular printing.  There was also the more traditional forms like pottery and oil paintings.  It was interesting and worth a look, there is always something exciting about seeing today’s artists’ work, it proves there is no end to what you can introduce to the world of art and creativity.

Moon Beom, Secret Garden

The Oil Installation by Richard Wilson is always one of my favourites and a must-see each time I visit.  It’s been regular at the gallery since 1987.

 

I then headed to Duke of York Square where they were showing the Olympics opening ceremony on the big screen.  I must admit, like many other Londoners, I wasn’t that excited about the whole thing, I was only worried about the increase in commuters, but experiencing the atmosphere, it sparked my interest and I instantly regretted not bothering to buy a ticket.

Danny Boyle really did us proud (although the group of “Abraham Lincolns” were a bit random!).

Anyway, there was a huge crowd watching with us, most seemed to be from outside the UK but all stood up first when the Queen came on screen and cheered as if they were actually in the stadium.

Opening Ceremony – Queen

As an aside, we’d stopped to eat at Partridges, which in supermaket status, is like a mix between Harrods and Waitrose, I’d give it a silver medal.  A bit pricey, but good quality and you can sit outside to eat and watch the Chelseaites swan by.

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Art Gallery, Cafe, Events and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

