Night in Tooting (John Kennedy, XFM)


Friday 20th July 2012: One of my favourite times of the month, another John Kennedy’s The Remedy at the Tramshed.

Tonight started with Francobollo, a “low-fi grunge” band.  There was a good crowd there already when we arrived half-way through their set.  In another setting, I may have enjoyed it, but I was in the mood for some indie-pop.

So luckily Tigercats were up next and we instantly left our comfy sofa upstairs to push to the front and our usual spot.

What a cute band!  Think nerdy, late 1980’s American freshers who have formed a school band and are suddenly cool.  That is a compliment by the way.  This band is in fact from East London and are made up of drums, guitars, keyboard and singers.  Duncan, the lead singer, persuaded his brother to play with him on the bass and the others soon followed.

There was a lyric that I’ve tried to remember which made me laugh, it was something like “in a bar in Dalston, full of assholes, with shit hair”.  It tickled me anyway.

Lastly there was The Wave Pictures, also based in East London.  John Kennedy (Xfm DJ) introduced them exclaiming that he “worships the ground they walk on”, which is a pretty bold statement to make, but judging by the huge crowd that had amassed (quite a weird crowd too I must say!) a few others felt the same way.

This 3-piece band are technically brilliant, a very tight set that appeared to come with great ease, as if they could have just been watching Eastenders whilst kicking out a few riffs.

They are another band I could place as being influenced by the late 80s/early 90s.  My friend said they reminded her of The Eagles, whereas I was reminded of Pink Floyd and Dire Straits because of the quite dreamy rock vibes.

There were no gimmicks, fashionista style or “shit hair” for this band, just pure, undiluted musical craftsmanship.  Top job.

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Events, Music, Pubs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

