Night in Camden/Chalk Farm (Barfly)


Saturday 16th June: Another impromptu night out on the hunt for live music took us to Barfly in Camden/Chalk Farm.

Barfly is a live music venue known for promoting up and coming talent and a hosting a selection of club nights.

Artists who have performed there over the years include The Killers, Friendly Fires, The Horrors, Kasabian, The Strokes, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Adele, Franz Ferdinand, Muse, Coldplay, Scissor Sisters…

We missed most of the bands unfortunately but thankfully we were there in time for the headliner, An Army of Lights.  It’s not often you see a band who are so tight they make your eyes light up and utter these words to your friend(s) “they’re awesome!”.

They seemed to have a healthy band ethos, (no stage-hogging lead singer), with great harmonies which were shared between the lead singer and bass player.  There was also a great solo spot for the drummer, which in conjunction with some clever lighting made it a bit of a highlight.

I liked them so much I drunkenly tweeted John Kennedy (XFM DJ), thankfully he replied asking to hear their tracks haha (you’re welcome AAOL!).

Pretty sure I later saw the drummer pull up in a tiger-esque looking V-Dub, which is also cool!

Good luck guys!

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Events, Music, Night Club, Pubs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

