Day in Clapham Old Town (Mongolian Grill)


Sunday 17th June: My friend had a recommendation from his friend to try out a newish place called Mongolian Grill in Clapham Old Town (probably the nicest part of Clapham, I think most would agree?!). 

C.O.T has some nice pubs and bars, a fire station (so the possibilty of seeing some nice firemen!) and posh mews a-plenty oh and yes, of course there is a Starbucks, but I highly recommend the little French patisserie, Macaron where I had the best Croque Monsieur I’ve ever had!

I highly recommend Mongolian Grill, unbelievably cheap for Clapham at £12.50 for all you can eat!  You just turn up (booking recommended for evenings), choose between the grill or “hot pot” (soup) option, pick up your plate and load it up with fresh meats and vegetables.

We chose the grill option, it is very similar to a Korean/Asian BBQ where you have a little hotplate in the centre of your table to cook everything yourself.  There is an array of sauces to choose from too and they give you a plate of rice and noodles to share.

It cost us about £18 each for the grill, a beer and tip, so a real bargain!  I ate a lot, but because the way it’s set up makes you eat relatively slower, you don’t get that horrible too full feeling, so you could go here before a night out, but you will smell of BBQ!

The nearest bars/pubs I recommend are Grafton House and The Sun.

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Pubs, Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

