Night in Balham (Banana Cabaret)


Saturday 24th March: An impromptu night out to Banana Cabaret at The Bedford Pub in Balham did not disappoint.  We were after a good laugh and quality acts and that’s what we got.

Having purchased the very last two tickets, we were taken to our seats and had just enough time to get the drinks in, which are reasonably priced (about 11 GBP for a double G&T and a large wine).  They even had a mini-buffet nearby, which was a great idea.

Anyway, onto the acts, first up was Tony Law  For me, he came across as a hybrid between Ron Burgundy and Zoolander.  After a slightly slow start, he soon picked up pace and ended with a random elephant story that he’d made up on the way.  “Dangerous!”

Hal Cruttenden was next, now he reminded me of David Mitchell and Michael McIntyre…meaning he was posh and funny.  I enjoyed his act which included the north/south England divide (not new but always funny) and impressions of his Northern Irish wife’s “scary” accent.  Good stuff.

 

Ian Moore didn’t feel like an act was being performed like the others, it felt like more of a story by some funny bloke in your local pub…in a good way!  Everyone was relaxed and intrigued the whole time.

 

 

The final act was Phil Kay, my slightly tipsy notes say “Scottish, crazy, guitar-guy” which is a simple but accurate description!  He was also a great comedian, having seen him on Russell Howard’s Good News, I knew he would probably be good live.  He was.  There was a nice mix of topical and just plain mental in there, loved it!

 

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Comedy Night, Events, Pubs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

