Day at Tate Modern, Southbank (Yayoi Kusama)


Sunday 11th MarchTate Modern time again!  This time I went back to see the well-marketed Yayoi Kusama exhibition.  This picture says it all:

This dotty Japanese artist is now 82 years old and started on her creative path from a very young age.  After building a reputation in Tokyo, she decided to spread her (Infinity) Net a bit wider by moving over to the US in the late fifties before returning to Japan again in the seventies.

Yayoi hoped her now more sexual work to be as well-received in Japan as it was in the US, unfortunately it was not to be and her art-dealing business folded.  It is then she decided to admit herself into a mental hospital voluntarily to feel more secure and continue her artwork.  She is also an established novelist, poet and more recently a fashion muse for the likes of Louis Vuitton.

I must admit, I was unsure about paying the 11GBPs for a ticket, but I did enjoy it and even moreso, reading up on the method behind the madness.

What a fascinating woman; she is a successful female artist with her pieces being sold at several million pounds a time AND she is still alive to reap the rewards!  Go girl!

I highly recommend it, but do your research on her before you go, it will make it all 200% more interesting.

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Art Gallery, Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

