Night (2 hours) in Soho (Borderline)


Saturday 13th August 2011:  Hello blog!  I’ve neglected you I know but like I mentioned right at the start, I do get bored easily…which really doesn’t say much for me and my blog…if I got bored of writing it, surely you guys got bored of reading it?!

Anyway, I admit this isn’t the best re-entry but here goes:

I’d yet to go to The Borderline so was excited to give it a go (even though I am currently dying from some kind of alien flu which makes me sounds like Marge Simpson after a heavy night out in an airport smokers’ lounge).

These particular friends I was going with are notoriusly always late, so these days I happily just arrive at venues early and prop up the bar like some kind of woman of the night until they arrive(!).

Borderline is famous for being “London’s longest-running indie club” apparently, they had a whole night of Britpop live music planned, but unfortunately I only arrived in time to see the last band, Chewing Gum Weekend but they were great.

It’s good to see and hear that the 90’s Oasis-style swagger is still alive!  I really enjoyed their set; good soulful frontman, melodic tunes with a roughness around the edges that only added value to their act.  These two were my faves:

It Aint Me 

All in my Mind

It’s a cool little basement venue that reminds me of a sixth form hang out, perhaps because of the canteen-like tables and chairs in the corner…or, because of their 14+ age allowance (if under 16 must be accompanied by a parent).  However, there was a good mix of ages there though by the looks of it.

I didn’t stick around for the DJ but apparently he was good and played some great tunes to – as Cher Lloyd would put it – get your swagger jagger on…

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Events, Music, Night Club, Pubs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

