Night in Central London (Runway)


Friday 25th March: After a couple of vodkas at the work bar, we needed some retail therapy (girls of course).  Bond Street shopping is simply dangerous!  A few GBPs (Great British Pounds) later and we headed to Tottenham Court Road.

We felt like some bar food so went to All Bar One, not sure if they have been taken over recently but their food and all-round atmosphere has improved considerably.  It’s a great place to hang with friends for wine and nibbles and all reasonably priced too, winner!

It was my friend’s, friend’s birthday so went along to new nightclub, Club Runway.  Their website says “very strict door policy” and they’re not lying with six people on the door!  They thoroughly searched our bags and gave us a pass card to give to the girl inside (we thankfully got to skip the normal queue as birthday boy is also a club promoter).  We also were told we had to check in our jackets and bags.  It was a bit OTT but it did make the place feel like it was going to be something special.

Unfortunately, I felt like I was on the set of The Only Way is Essex, it was 90% girls who had 90% of their bits on show.  Okay so now I feel a bit of a prude writing that but it was extreme!  Good place for men to have a good old ogle, jeez, even I couldn’t stop staring at all the butts!

If you’ve been to a few clubs in central London then you’ll know the standard format, it’s a dolled up meat market complete with magnums of vodka with fireworks coming out the top.  I wasn’t going to complain about free Grey Goose though!

On the plus side, everyone in there did seem to be having a good time and the music and sound system was better than the average.  Down the length of the dancefloor is a flourescent “runway”, think moths to a flame but instead of moths there are gyrating women and instead of a flame there is a long pink landing strip.

So, if you like those typical places and want a glam night out and the possibility of being invited onto someone’s table for free vodka then try Runway (you may need to flash the flesh though!).

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Night Club, Pubs, Restaurant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment