Night in Embankment/Barons Court/Clapham/Shoreditch (La Belle Epoque)


Thursday 3rd to Saturday 5th: My blog has been neglected of late because I’ve been on a 12 day detox.  I must say, I felt so healthy, revitalised, rejuvenated and just, well…alive!

Then I had plans in the diary for last weekend and it all went out the window!  12 days may not seem long to you but, in London, this is quite the achievement…unfortunately I totally undid all my good work with a weekend binge.  However, it was an amazing weekend!

I’ve merged the three nights out into one blog, because, quite frankly, I’m getting lazy.

Thursday: I was invited to attend the launch of the new All Bar One on Villiers Street, Embankment.  Free alcohol?  Yes please.  The night was really well run, with different pop-up bars around the venue (which used to be Bar Ha! Ha!).  My friends and I hovered mostly around the vodka bar, Absolute Apple Vodka, so yum!  We left early as it got crowded but we were given a goodie bag as we left with a bottle of vodka and brownie inside mmmm.

Friday: My friend selfishly chose to have her birthday in a random pub out by Barons Court, West London (only joking!).  So trekked it out there after having a few at my “work bar” The Frog (good cheap drinks, full of worky peeeps).  The Curtains Up is a great little bar, even though it’s located on a random street which took us ages to find (thank god for iPhones – not mine – I still have a brick).  It even has a theatre downstairs, definitely worth a look, especially if you live out West.

The South Westerners (Clapham/Balham) headed to Clapham for more drinkies, our lovely gay friend was steering us towards The Two Brewers a notorious gay bar, which has some good cabaret nights too.  We managed to make a compromise (given that us single girls wanted to attempt to see some straight men first!), so we headed the The Underdog Bar which used to be called People’s Republic.  Now this is a place where you can always have a dance and sing out loud.  It’s full of happy, dancey and okay, quite inebriated people.  They play good music, a mix of indie, rock and 80s…feel good music basically and the bar staff are very friendly.  It is a good pulling place for all you singletons!!  My tip of the day.

Then we headed to Brewers, or The Two Sewers as my friend calls it.  Sewers has two rooms, one for cheesy pop and the other for the techno heads.  So full of fun, you can dance til you drop and if you’re a straight girl, the guys will be fighting over you for a dance.  Too bad they’re all gay!

Saturday: We’d booked tickets way in advance for La Belle Epoque and tickets sold out weeks before.  These guys also run The Blitz Party which I attended last year.  Both events require full participation i.e. you have to dress up!  Everyone makes such an effort and you really do feel that you are in that era.  For La Belle Époque they had burlesque dancers, live bands and acrobat performers.

You spend the night feeling very glam and receiving compliments left, right and centre and mostly from women, which is a nice change!

We really enjoyed it, it makes my highly recommended list!

So that was my epic weekend, which I thoroughly enjoyed and realise that although alcohol can cause many a problem (aside from eventual liver failure) it also helped to create a truly unforgettable weekend.  So for once, I will say, thanks vodka, sometimes you’re nice to me…

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Events, Night Club, Pubs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

