Night in Clapham (Grand Union)


Saturday 19th February: I’m very tempted to just write this – Bellevue Pub, vodka, house party, vodka, Grand Union, vodka, SOUK Bar, water, Shalamar Fast Food, chicken burger, bed!

However, now I feel a little more human, I will break it down for your pleasure only (and to remind myself never to drink alcohol again).

So we stopped for one at The Belle Vue, such a cosy and inviting pub, the food looked and smelled great and the bar staff were friendly, I almost want to break into the Cheers theme tune, it could be that kind of place.

We then went to a house party near the  Grand Union pub, which of course we had to visit later that night.  This pub is awesome, especially in the summer as it boasts having the largest beer garden in all of London.  There are always nice, chatty types in there and has quite a good overall vibe.

SO.UK was next on the list, this place is quite different to the above as they play mostly dance and house music, drinks are more expensive but they make them well I suppose.  We got in for free too which was a bonus, not sure why, it’s usually a fiver.  We only stayed half an hour though, food was calling our names!

Which finally brings me onto the shameful food stop, Shalamar’s Fast Food, but I’m mentioning it because the staff are just hilarious.  This is a team of around six older gentlemen who constantly play cheesy music such as hits from Boyzone, Take That, Bros, Westlife oh I could go on.  Such a happy little food joint where the staff are having as much fun as the customers.  The chicken burger wasn’t a culinary delight but it probably saved me from feeling even worse today, if that is possible.

Hayley, it’s definitely detox time.

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Night Club, Pubs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

