Night in Camden (Jazz Cafe)


Saturday 5th February: I won tickets to see Mighty Mouse (the music duo not the cartoon) who were “playing” in Camden’s Jazz Cafe.  We went for tapas beforehand at Jamon Jamon which was quite yummy.  Anyway, the night in Jazz Cafe was poorly communicated, we were excited to see Mighty Mouse in action after listening to their stuff all day but they didn’t even come on!  We watched two acts Sound of Rum and David E Sugar who were really great but we waited for MM and ended up asking the sound engineer who said he thought they did their thing briefly at 7pm to open the night.  What?!  If a flyer has an act in big bold letters at the top, does that not mean they’re on last i.e. saved the best til last?!  I still really like their music though.

The club itself was quite cool though and had a great sound system.  Bar staff were friendly although I had to teach two of them how to make Slippery Nipples (white Sambuca and Baileys).

The clientele were a mix of young and old, I noticed a few who probably should have stayed at home with slippers and cocoa though!

So we left, but lucky we did as we stumbled across an awesome beatboxer on Camden High Street who had asked randoms from the crowd to come up and jam with him.  We listened to some dude who was actually pretty good and gave mixes of new and old dance tunes.  The dude in question, we soon realised, was Daniel Bedingfield.  The beatboxer was strangely named R-Titz but really cool and his brother gave us the wow factor with his crazy stunts, he jumped/twirled/flew over 9 people!

Our night ended on an awesome high, I love Camden!!

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Music, Night Club, Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

