Night in Charing Cross (New Players Theatre)


Thursday 27th January: Went out for dinner and drinks with the lovely Sarah, we decided to take advantage of the 2 for 1 deals I found on Money Saving Expert and plumped for Belle Italia as it was closest.  The restaurant looked small from outside but it is deceiving as downstairs it is cavernous!  So, we’re in this Italian restaurant chain and the waitress asks what we would like to drink and I stupidly ask if they have any Spanish red wine!  Of course, they only had Italian wines on the menu…my bad!  For me, the way to tell a truly fantastic Italian is from having their lasagna, so that’s what I ordered.  It was the most disgusting lasagna I have ever had the misfortune to taste in my life.  It looked like it had been left under the heating lamp for days, not hours.  Being typically British though, I opted not to complain but instead to moan and eat the rest of it, as I was hungry and had no energy to cause a fuss.  Waitress was nice, food was not.  Belle Italia, here is what a good lasagna looks like and it doesn’t taste like butter!

We then went to a little favourite of mine New Players Theatre for a drink.  It’s an awesome little theatre/bar that also has a pianist who will play your favourite tunes on request.  The only downer to this is that he doesn’t start until 11pm but I was told that this is so it doesn’t disturb the performance in the theatre which makes sense.  It’s worth sticking around for anyway.

We popped into Opal Bar on the way home for a cheeky dance.  It used to be Motion bar which was always a hit with office workers drowning their office sorrows and….it still is.  Lot’s of bad dancing, cheap wine and cheap suits lolling about the place.  The DJ was mediocre, he played some real random tunes and mixes…we left early.

Office Dance

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Night Club, Restaurant and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

