Night in Camden (Green Note)


Monday 10th January: Yes, a Monday, really!  Just got back from a fab night at Green Note to see a poetry slam in action, my first!  Acts included Angy Sam, Curious, Tim Wells and Byron Vincent – all fantastic but the unknown slammers did pretty well too.  A great poem called ‘Faces’ won the slam, by Fatima “all the way from Coventry”.

My friend and I were picked to be one of the five judges and what lovely judges we were, no Simon Cowellesque type in sight.  Our scores ranged from 7.9 to 8.6 and I even won myself a lil book of poetry for top scoring one of them, I’m easily swayed.

The venue itself is super cosy, situated on the Parkway right next to Camden High Street.  I’d never even looked at this street before but I’d go back to check out the copius amounts of restaurants which I never knew were there.

The event was nicely packed out, well organised and ultra friendly.  My Monday started on a low (work) and ended on a lovely high, regardless of the 2 whiskey’s and 1 red wine (purely to try and defer my lurking cold).  Detox is definitely over already.

Pros: Talent, talent, talent, fun, laughter and a fuzzy warm feeling.  Also, nice people and lovely barmaid! (who chased after me with my card as I left, which I’d forgotten was behind the bar – ooops!)

Cons: Can’t think of many, if any, even the tube ride back to Clapham didn’t seem that bad.  Okay – we had a wobbly table…

Check out these:

Hammer and Tongue

Farrago Poetry Slam

Bryon Vincent

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Poetry Slam, Pubs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

