Night in Soho (Madame Jo Jo’s)


Saturday 8th January: So, so much for my detoxing, I can’t even manage a week, how weak I am!  After having a super lazy day today…actually I did manage 30 minutes on the Wii fit but somehow only burnt 90 calories…anyway, I went out, first off I have a foodie recommendation, Mildreds OMG YUM.  It is a pure veggie place but wait…the food is so good, not bland or too “veggie” and I am quite fussy with food i.e. I like good, tasty stuff.  The place was packed and we waited a wee while to get seated but were able to have a drink and chat whilst we did so.

I had the special, a red lentil cake with green beans and spinach and coconut milk sauce mmmmmm, followed by a chocolate, raspberry and lime cake with vanilla creme, yum yum.  Good prices too.  Give it a go, even if you are an all out carnivorous type.

It was my friend’s housemate’s birthday and so we were going to meet him at Madame Jo Jos and we got there at 9.45pm and were told that we were too early, it doesn’t open until 10pm!  How keen did we look?  So, we walked 10 seconds over to Yard Bar and we were quite pleased to see half naked barmen serving us, okay so they were clearly gay (super fit, hairless, half-naked in a gay bar), we can still appreciate their fine forms!  The place was 99% male and we even doubted ourselves for a second, initally wondering if we, being straight females, were allowed to be in there?!  But of course we were and we happily ordered our cocktails and huddled around the garden heater before trying MJ’s again…

Love MJ’s, I’d been wanting to check it out for a while so was excited to finally be going and I wasn’t disappointed.  It was Rock n Roll night, 50s and 60s style and even though we didn’t know half the tunes, we just had to dance all night.  We only had one drink all night as we were too busy busting out some moves – our own special versions of the twist, mash potato etc etc!  Lots of fun and they don’t overcrowd, it has a small bar but you get served quickly enough.

Pros: Great music, fun vibe, cool pit-style dancefloor, can request songs via the DJ, genuine back-in-time feel

Cons: Super small toilets but I got in each time without much waiting, they do have toilet attendants (which I find to be a bit awkward), high-risk of being asked to dance (it’s a pro for me anyway!)

I definitely burnt off more calories than using the Wii…bonus!

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Night Club, Pubs, Restaurant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

