Night in Peckham (The Ivy)


Friday 7th January: Went to The Ivy……pub, not the restaurant unfortunately!  I must admit, I was dubious about going to Peckham, given the various comments I’ve heard about it being “a bit rough” and others commenting that people are trying to make it the “new Shoreditch, full of trendy wannabes” or something similar.

Well I definitely think I got the genuine Peckham at The Ivy (which was confirmed by my Peckhamite friend).  What a cool pub, kind of feels like an old church hall/theatre/old man pub…we were there to watch my friend’s band, United Vibrations, all from Peckham and boy did they vibrate!  United Vibrations all play musical instruments, have played at The Big Chill and Glastonbury and they are super-cool guys.  The track below is my fave:

Then there was a guy who started off his act with a solo poetry slam followed by banging a bongo drum (we decided to sit in the old man part of the pub to have a chat during this bit) then just as we were deciding to go home, a very well dressed gentleman (70s flared green suit) complete with bushy moustache got on stage to kick off the DJ set of the coolest 60s and 70s tracks, to which we instantly had to dance to.

There were definitely some trendy type peeps in the place but we felt right at home dancing like loons….

Such a shame we were told the pub is actually closing down in a few weeks, hopefully it re-opens, it could be a real gem and was worth the two bus rides, with no “Peckham Terminator” in sight!

Peckham Terminator

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Music, Pubs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

