Night in Soho (Burger & Lobster)


Yet another new(ish) restaurant-on-the-block, Burger and Lobster has quickly gained popularity, mostly through word of mouth.

I’m not a fan of lobster but do love a well-made and tasty burger, so jumped at the chance to be taken there.

Having tried-and-failed to eat there before on a busy Friday night and being told there was a 2-hour wait (you can’t book ahead) I made sure this time, I’d get there early to put our names on the waiting list.  I got there at 6.30 on a Wednesday and there was still an hour wait, so we put our name down and waited with a drink (it’s a quicker wait if you choose to eat at the bar).

We decided to go for their combo meal for £30 each which consisted of a burger, salad, half a lobster and desert.  It certainly looked impressive when it came out and quickly.

BL

Unfortunately it didn’t live up to the hype for me personally.  I thought I’d just create a pros and cons list below for ease:

Pros:

  • Great service
  • Nice enough atmosphere
  • Food was nicely presented
  • They don’t put a time on your stay (I hate those 2-hour windows some give you to finish)

Cons:

  • Long waiting list
  • Burger was a bit bland (I’ve had better in a pub – Brixton’s Grand Union does an amazing mushroom and emmental topped beef burger)
  • Lobster was a bit over-cooked
  • Desert was in a plastic pot á la school packed lunch

It’s hard to be too mean about this place, as I did enjoy the overall experience, it’s just a shame the food was such a let down.  Sounds like I was just unlucky though as other friends liked the food.

So maybe see for yourself and let me know what you think!

About Hayles

Living in and loving London, I like to cram in as much as possible. I have a lot of different hobbies which I start on a whim and most of the time abandon for something else! My current interests include film, TV, music, comedy, art, photography, theatre and finding new yummy food establishments. Mostly I just love to experience the many joys and wonders that London offers. I started this blog to help me remember what I've actually done at the end of each year, but now I actually really enjoy writing and sharing what I hope is funny and/or useful information.
This entry was posted in Restaurant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Night in Soho (Burger & Lobster)

  1. Thank you for the insight. I was intrigued by the restaurant for a while. After reading your review, I may not bother queue up for their burger…

Leave a Reply

